According to my mom, our parents learned very early that my sister could handle rational discussions.  She was very mature that way.  If something big was coming up in her life, our parents would give her plenty of warning, and she would go off on her own to mentally prepare herself for the event.

So it makes since that, having a wonderfully sweet and intelligent first child (and she still is that way…love you, sis!), our parents would use the same tactics on their second.

My whirlwind of hysteria was enough to pick up a heifer and take it for a ride, a la “Twister.”  So you can imagine how it fared against the good intentions of my parents.

Which is why I found myself with increasing frequency in the backseat of our minivan for inexplicably long periods of time.

I knew that tone.

I’ve come so far.

